Login icon
eLearning Login
Your Cart
Hard Hat Training logo

Arc Flash Training & Certification

Hard Hat Training courses meet all training requirements set by OSHA or CSA.

We Offer Three Differnt Types of Safety Trainings

Our OSHA-compliant certification courses are updated to reflect the most recent changes made to safety standards. Whether you want a certification in as little as two hours with our online training or a more robust, customizable option like you get with our DIY training kits or on-site training, we can help you get the training you want in the way you want it and at a price you can afford.

Online Training

Online is for those who prefer self-paced training from any location or for employers who need to assign and monitor employee training progress and exam scores.

Training Kits

The training kit is for those who want the freedom of doing the training themselves. It is an OSHA Competent Presentation the you can present yourself to a group of trainees.

Train the Trainer

Train the trainer courses are online and meant to certify a individual to use the training kit to train others. The kit is included with the train the trainer online course for no additional cost.

Onsite Training

Onsite training is for companies looking for hands on training on your own equipment at your location. We come to you (from Rexburg, Idaho) so travel expenses are included, because of this onsite training is best for groups of at least 5-10+ trainees.

What's in the Training Course?

Our Arc Flash Safety Training course is regulation compliant, and our online version fulfills classroom training requirements. Each class contains sections on controls, operations, common hazards, emergency response, and more.

This presentation includes intermittent practice quiz questions to prepare for the final written exam included with the course. In addition to the written exam, this course also includes a checklist for employers to use when administering a practical exam as required.

Though you will still need to familiarize yourself with all other applicable federal, state, and local standards, this training encompasses the following standards for arc flash reduction:

Certification Standards

U.S. Standards

  • OSHA 29 CFR 1910.269 Subpart R – Special Industries
  • OSHA 29 CFR 1910.269 Subpart S – Electrical, General Industry
  • OSHA 29 CFR 1926 Subpart V – Electric Power Transmission and Distribution, Construction
  • OSHA 29 CFR 1926 Subpart V – Electric Power Transmission and Distribution, Construction
  • Canada Standards

  • NFPA 70E – Standard for Electrical Safety in the workplace, National Fire Protection Association
  • NEC Article 110.16, Arc Flash Hazard Warning
  • Article 240.87 Arc Energy Reduction, National Electric Code
  • CSA Z462 – Workplace Electrical Safety
  • CEC C22.1 – Canadian Electrical Code
  • Alberta – Alberta OHS Act, Regulation, and Code
  • B.C., Workers Compensation Act – Part 3 Occupational Health and Safety
  • Manitoba – Workplace Safety and Health Act and Regulation
  • Nova Scotia – OHS Act and Regulation
  • Saskatchewan – OHS Act and Regulation
  • Ontario – OHS Act and Regulation
  • International Standards

  • NFPA 70E – Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace
  • NEC Article 110.16 – Arc Flash Hazard Warning
  • NEC Article 240.87 – Arc Energy Reduction, National Electric Code
  • Train the Trainer Certification

    The train the trainer option is used to certify a trainer to teach others using the included training kit. It incorporates the online course with an additional train the trainer module, as well as the training kit. This option results in an OSHA compliant lifetime trainer certification from Hard Hat Training. This certification is not company-specific, meaning you can take it with you should you change employers.

    Why Do I Need Safety Training?

    In line with regulations, anyone who works with electricity must receive training prior to working on their own. Requirements for refresher training related to forklifts or other processes are very specific. Most other equipment doesn’t have such specific requirements, but it’s wise to follow the same guidelines.

    When it comes to refresher training, the standards in some instances (like forklifts) are very specific: operators must be re-evaluated every three years to see if they are still competent to operate the equipment. Best practices say to apply this same rule to all types of equipment. A so-called “free-pass” cannot be awarded based on experience, age, or time on the job. The extent of the evaluation is to be determined by the employer but should include a written and practical examination that prove continued competency.

    Stay Informed On All Things

    Did You Know?

    From 1992-2013, nearly 6,000 workers died from electrical injuries in the U.S.

    From 2003-2012, more than 24,100 workers were non-fatally injured by electricity.

    About 40% of electrical incidents involved 250 volts or less. (Source: NFPA).

    hard hart training logo
    "Stop training the hard way. Do it the Hard Hat Training way instead!"
    — Arthur Lee, CEO