Login icon
eLearning Login
Your Cart
Hard Hat Training logo

Fall Protection Training & Certification

Hard Hat Training courses meet all training requirements set by OSHA or CSA.

We Offer Four Differnt Types of Safety Trainings

Our OSHA-compliant certification courses are updated to reflect the most recent changes made to safety standards. Whether you want a certification in as little as two hours with our online training or a more robust, customizable option like you get with our DIY training kits or on-site training, we can help you get the training you want in the way you want it and at a price you can afford.

Online Training

Online is for those who prefer self-paced training from any location or for employers who need to assign and monitor employee training progress and exam scores.

Training Kits

The training kit is for those who want the freedom of doing the training themselves. It is an OSHA Competent Presentation the you can present yourself to a group of trainees.

Train the Trainer

Train the trainer courses are online and meant to certify a individual to use the training kit to train others. The kit is included with the train the trainer online course for no additional cost.

Competent Person

Competent person training takes a more in-depth approach. These trainings cover everything regular employees are trained on plus any additional responsibilities placed on the competent person.

Onsite Training

Onsite training is for companies looking for hands on training on your own equipment at your location. We come to you (from Rexburg, Idaho) so travel expenses are included, because of this onsite training is best for groups of at least 5-10+ trainees.

What's in the Training Course?

Our Fall Protection Safety Training course is regulation compliant, and our online version fulfills classroom training requirements. Each class contains sections on equipment, inspections, operations, common hazards, rescue operations, and more.

This presentation includes intermittent practice quiz questions to prepare for the final written exam included with the course. In addition to the written exam, this course also includes a checklist for employers to use when administering a practical exam as required.

Though you will still need to familiarize yourself with all other applicable federal, state, provincial, territorial, and local standards, this training encompasses the following standards for fall protection:

Certification Standards

U.S. Standards

  • 1926 Subpart M – Fall Protection
  • 1926.501 – Duty to Have Fall Protection
  • 1926.502 – Fall Protection Systems Criteria and Practices
  • 1926.503 – Training Requirements
  • 1910 Subpart D – Walking-Working Surfaces
  • 1910.29 – Fall Protection Systems and Falling Object Protection-Criteria and Practices
  • 1910.28 – Safety Requirements for Scaffolding
  • 1910 Subpart F – Powered Platforms, Manlifts, and Vehicle
  • 1910 App C – Personal Fall Arrest System
  • 1910.67 – Vehicle-Mounted Elevating and Rotating Work Platforms
  • 1910 Subpart I – Personal Protective Equipment
  • 1910.140 – Personal Fall Protection Systems
  • 29 CFR 1917 – Marine Terminals
  • 1917 Subpart F – Terminal Facilities
  • 1917.112 – Guarding of Edges
  • 1917.117 – Manlifts
  • 1917.118 – Fixed Ladders
  • 29 CFR 1915 – Shipyards
  • 1915 Subpart E – Scaffolds, Ladders and Other Working Surfaces
  • 1915.71 – Scaffolds or Staging
  • 1915.72 – Ladders
  • 1915.73 – Guarding of Deck Openings and Edges
  • 1915 Subpart I – Personal Protective Equipment
  • 1915.159 – Personal Fall Arrest Systems (PFAS)
  • 29 CFR 1918 – Longshoring
  • 1918 Subpart D – Working Surfaces
  • 1918.32 – Stowed Cargo and Temporary Landing Surfaces
  • Canada Standards

  • CAN/CSA Z259-1-05 (R2015) - Body Belts and Saddles for Work Positioning and Travel Restraint
  • Z259.2.3:16 - Descent devices
  • Z259.10-12 (R2016) - Full body harnesses
  • Z259.12-16 - Connecting components for personal fall-arrest systems (PFAS)
  • Z259.13-16 - Manufactured horizontal lifeline systems
  • Z259.14-12 (R2016) - Fall restrict equipment for wood pole climbing
  • Z259.2.2-17 - Self-retracting devices
  • Z259.2.5-17 - Fall arresters and vertical lifelines
  • Z259.16-15 - Design of active fall-protection systems
  • Z259.2.4-15 - Fall arresters and vertical rigid rails
  • Z259.17-16 - Selection and use of active fall-protection equipment and systems
  • Z259.15-17 - Anchorage connectors
  • Alberta – Part 9 (Scaffolding, Work Platforms and Temporary Supporting Structures)
  • British Columbia – Part 11 (Fall Protection)
  • Manitoba – Part 14 (Fall Protection)
  • Newfoundland and Labrador – Part X (Fall Protection)
  • Northwest Territories - Section 118-122 (Fall Protection)
  • Nunavut – Section 118-122 (Fall Protection)
  • Ontario – Sections 52 & 85 (Fall Protection)
  • Quebec – Divisions I,II,III,XXIII (Fall Protection)
  • Saskatchewan – Part IX (Safeguards, Storage, Warning Signs and Signals)
  • Yukon – Sections 1.37-1.43 (Protective Equipment and Clothing- Fall Arrest)
  • Federal Code –Parts I,II,III,X (Safety Materials, Equipment, Devices and Clothing)
  • Train the Trainer Certification

    The train the trainer option is used to certify a trainer to teach others using the included training kit. It incorporates the online course with an additional train the trainer module, as well as the training kit. This option results in an OSHA compliant lifetime trainer certification from Hard Hat Training. This certification is not company-specific, meaning you can take it with you should you change employers.

    Why Do I Need Safety Training?

    In line with regulations, anyone who operates heavy equipment must receive training prior to operating the machine on their own. Requirements for refresher training and other processes are very specific. Most other equipment doesn’t have such specific OSHA training requirements, but it’s wise to follow the same guidelines.

    When it comes to refresher health and safety training, the standards in some instances (like forklifts) are very specific: operators must be re-evaluated every three years to see if they are still competent to operate the equipment. Best practices say to apply this same rule to all types of equipment. A so-called “free-pass” cannot be awarded based on experience, age, or time on the job. The extent of the evaluation is to be determined by the employer but should include a written and practical examination that prove continued competency.

    Stay Informed On All Things

    Did You Know?

    39.2% of deaths within the construction industry in 2017 were caused by falls. (Source: OSHA).

    In 2016, there were 370 preventable fatalities from falls that occurred in the construction industry. (Source: OSHA).

    In the United States, over $15 billion is spent on disability claims that occur because of falls. (Source: EHS Today).

    hard hart training logo
    "Stop training the hard way. Do it the Hard Hat Training way instead!"
    — Arthur Lee, CEO