eLearning Login
Your Cart

Scaffolding Training & Certification

Hard Hat Training courses meet all training requirements set by OSHA or CSA.

We Offer Four Different Types of Safety Trainings

Our OSHA-compliant certification courses are updated to reflect the most recent changes made to safety standards. Whether you want a certification in as little as two hours with our online training or a more robust, customizable option like you get with our DIY training kits or on-site training, we can help you get the training you want in the way you want it and at a price you can afford.

Online Training

Online is for those who prefer self-paced training from any location or for employers who need to assign and monitor employee training progress and exam scores.

Training Kits

The training kit is for those who want the freedom of doing the training themselves. It is an OSHA Competent Presentation the you can present yourself to a group of trainees.

Train the Trainer

Train the trainer courses are online and meant to certify a individual to use the training kit to train others. The kit is included with the train the trainer online course for no additional cost.

Competent Person

Competent person training takes a more in-depth approach. The competent person trainings cover everything regular employees need plus the additional responsibilities placed on the competent person/employee.

Onsite Training

Onsite training is for companies looking for hands on training on your own equipment at your location. We come to you (from Rexburg, Idaho) so travel expenses are included, because of this onsite training is best for groups of at least 5-10+ trainees.

What's in the Training Course?

Our Scaffolding safety training course is regulation compliant, and our online version fulfills OSHA’s classroom training requirement. Each class contains sections on the anatomy, proper inspection techniques, stability, safe operations, common hazards, and more.

This presentation includes intermittent practice quiz questions to prepare for the final written exam included with the course. In addition to the written exam, this course also includes a checklist for employers to use when administering a practical exam as required.

Though you will still need to familiarize yourself with all other applicable federal, state, and local standards, this training encompasses the following standards for Scaffolding:

See Purchase Options

For most courses, we offer OSHA trainings in English and Spanish, CAL-OSHA trainings in English, and Canada trainings in English. See all of our options!

Certification Standards

U.S. Standards

  • 1926.450 – Scope and definitions of scaffolding
  • 1926.451 – General Requirements
  • 1926.452 – Additional Requirements
  • Canada Standards

  • CAN/CSA-Z271-10 – Safety Code for Suspended Platforms
  • CAN/CSA-Z797-09 – Code of Practice for Access Scaffold
  • CAN/CSA-S269.2 – Access Scaffolding for Construction
  • International Standards

  • ANSI A10.8 – Construction, Demolition Operation
  • Train the Trainer Certification

    The train the trainer option is used to certify a trainer to teach others using the included training kit. It incorporates the online course with an additional train the trainer module, as well as the training kit. This option results in an OSHA compliant lifetime trainer certification from Hard Hat Training. This certification is not company-specific, meaning you can take it with you should you change employers.

    Why Do I Need Safety Training?

    In line with regulations, anyone who operates heavy equipment must receive training prior to operating the machine on their own. Requirements for refresher training and other processes are very specific. Most other equipment doesn’t have such specific OSHA training requirements, but it’s wise to follow the same guidelines.

    When it comes to refresher health and safety training, the standards in some instances (like forklifts) are very specific: operators must be re-evaluated every three years to see if they are still competent to operate the equipment. Best practices say to apply this same rule to all types of equipment. A so-called “free-pass” cannot be awarded based on experience, age, or time on the job. The extent of the evaluation is to be determined by the employer but should include a written and practical examination that prove continued competency.

    Stay Informed On All Things

    Did You Know?

    The number one cause of scaffolding fatalities is improper assembly of the scaffolding.

    Scaffolding is number three on OSHA’s top ten most cited standards of 2018

    Frequently Asked Questions

    What is scaffolding for?

    Although “scaffolding” is a common term used in teaching to describe structural methods of cohering information, scaffolding, in the literal sense, is for working at heights. Scaffolding comes in different forms depending on how long the working platforms will be used.

    What types of scaffolding are there?

    Internet searches give anywhere from 2 to 8 different types of scaffolding. The longest lists include eight types of scaffolding: single, double, cantilever, suspended, trestle, steel, patented, wooden and bamboo, tube and clip, and kwikstage. These types vary in stability, fire and weatherproofing, and longevity.

    Is scaffolding new?

    Not at all. Archaeologists have evidence of scaffolding as long as 17,000 years ago in Greece, although that scaffolding was probably not especially sturdy or safe.

    See Purchase Options

    For most courses, we offer OSHA trainings in English and Spanish, CAL-OSHA trainings in English, and Canada trainings in English. See all of our options!
    "Stop training the hard way. Do it the Hard Hat Training way instead!"
    — Arthur Lee, CEO